Where I was on 09/11/2001 (repost from old blog September 12, 2009)

(This is a post written on 09/11/2009)

Today is the 8th anniversary of the Terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center and Pentagon. And of course the saying “you will always remember where you were when you first heard the news” is true. I remember, my story isn’t dramatic, but it did eventually change the shape of my life and my daily actions.

I was in high school. I was an awkward teenager with a shell as thick as the line for meningitis vaccinations. I was a junior in Mrs. Hunt’s morning art class. I love art, I made it my own private world. But I did not enjoy the class, in fact, it was my least favorite class. I loved listing to the local Clear Channel conglomerate for classic rock, KKRW 93.7 The Arrow. The morning show team, Dean and Rog, was my favorite. The teacher played CDs and radio, picked by the students, during drawing assignment. It was my day to pick. Well, I was the strange kid who brought in “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band,” but not that day. That early morning class I wanted to hear Dean and Rog’s signature bit, the birthday scam: a prank phone call preformed by request on people’s birthday. So she tuned in the shoty old radio with one broken speaker…

…That’s when I heard. The details at that time were not clear, A plane had crashed into a building. I wasn’t sure what was happening, nobody in that room did. It was the start of the attack, and shortly after that… gone, they were both gone.

Leave a Reply

